8 facts about Dada Saheb Phalke award that you didn’t know

8 facts about Dada Saheb Phalke award that you didn’t know

Dada Saheb Phalke award is considered the most prestigious award in Indian cinema and is awarded by the Government of India itself. The award is given to recognise and honour the contribution made by individuals towards the development of Indian cinema.

On March 4, 2016 the Ministry of Information & Broadcasting announced that veteran Actor Manoj Kumar has been selected for the Dada Saheb Phalke award for the year 2015 for lifetime contribution to Indian cinema.

Here are 8 facts relating to DadaSaheb Phalke award that one should know.

  1. The award is named after ‘DadaSaheb Phalke’ who is also known as the ‘Father of Indian Cinema’. He had made the first Indian full length feature film ‘Raja Harishchandra’ in 1913.
  2. The Dada Saheb Phalke award was constituted by the Government of India in 1969 on the Birth centenary of Dada Saheb Phalke and has been given 46 times till now.
  3. Devika Rani RoeRich was the first recipient of the award in 1969.
  4. Prithvi Raj Kapoor is the only awardee who was conferred with the award posthumously in 1971.
  5. The award is always presented at the National Films award ceremony held by the Directorate of Films festivals.
  6. The award contains a shawl, cash prize of about Rs. 10,000,00, a Golden lotus (Swarna Kamal).
  7. Lata Mangeshkar and Asha Bhonsale, along with Raj Kapoor and Shashi Kapoor are the siblings who have both received the award.
  8. Shashi Kapoor was awarded with Dada Saheb Phalke award in 2015 for the year 2014.

The 63rd National Films Award ceremony is slated to be held on May 3, 2016. Manoj Kumar will be the 47threcipient of the award in 2016. He was unanimously chosen by a select committee of eminent personalities from the film industry, who recommended his name to the Ministry of Information & Broadcasting.