India first country to become YAWS free

Home » India first country to become YAWS free

India first country to become YAWS free

2017-12-25T10:39:16+00:00 By |Current Affairs 2018 pdf|

India first country to become YAWS free

India first country to become YAWS free

India achieves yet another public health milestone; becomes first country to be declared free of Yaws, an infection of the skin and bones, much ahead of WHO global target year of 2020.

India has acknowledged as the first country in the world to become YAWS-free.

Union Health Minister JP Nadda received an official citation from the World Health Organisation and the UNICEF for Elimination of Maternal and Neonatal Tetanus and for being YAWS-free on Thursday.

YAWS is a kind of bacterial infection that affects skin, bones and joints, while tetanus, another bacterial infection, leads to muscle spasms that can be fatal.

An official statement said, “India was validated for MNTE in April 2015, much ahead of the global target date of December 2015.” According to the WHO, 19 countries have still not reached the MNTE status.

The Union Health minister said that Following the success of polio eradication programme, these achievements reflect the dedication of the country towards achievement of health equity and universal health coverage.

He added that this accomplishment is significant as India has achieved the milestone of being YAWS-free much before the WHO global target year of 2020.

What is YAWS And How it Infect a person 

Key facts

  • Yaws is a chronic disfiguring and debilitating childhood infectious disease caused by Treponema pallidum subspecies pertenue.
  • It is one of the first diseases targeted by WHO and UNICEF for eradication nearly in the 1950s.
  • The disease affects skin, bone and cartilage. Humans are currently believed to be the only reservoir, and transmission is from person to person.
  • Yaws is cured by a single oral dose of an inexpensive antibiotic azithromycin.
  • The 13 countries currently known to be endemic for yaws need support to implement WHO’s “Yaws Eradication Strategy” (the Morges strategy).
  • There are 73 countries previously endemic for yaws that need to confirm the current status of the disease.

Leave A Comment