Home » List of Gandhi Peace Prize Winners (1995-2014)

List of Gandhi Peace Prize Winners (1995-2014)

2017-12-25T11:04:00+00:00Categories: India GK|

List of Gandhi Peace Prize Winners (1995-2014)

List of Gandhi Peace Prize Winners (1995-2014)

  • The International Gandhi Peace Prize, named after Mahatma Gandhi, is awarded annually by the Government of India.
  • As a tribute to the ideals espoused by Gandhi, the Government of India launched the International Gandhi Peace Prize in 1995 on the occasion of the 125th birth anniversary of Mohandas Gandhi.
  • This is an annual award given to individuals and institutions for their contributions towards social, economic and political transformation through non-violence and other Gandhian methods.
  • The award carries Rs. 10 million in cash, convertible in any currency in the world, a plaque and a citation.
  • It is open to all persons regardless of nationality, race, creed or sex.
  • A jury consisting of the Prime Minister of India, the Leader of the Opposition in the Lok Sabha, the Chief Justice of India and two other eminent persons decides the awardee each year.List of Gandhi Peace Prize Winners (1995-2014)

Gandhi Peace Prize Winners List

2014 -:ISRO – Space agency of the Indian Govt. Objective is to advance space technology and deliver the applications of it
2013 : Chandi Prasad Bhatt Environmentalist, India
2005 : Desmond Tutu South African Cleric and Activist, South Africa
2004 : Coretta Scott King Widow of Martin Luther King, United States
2003 : Václav Havel 1st President of Czech Republic, Czech Republic
2002 : Bharatiya Vidya Bhavan Educational Trust, India
2001 : John Hume Northern Irish Politician, Northern Ireland
2000 : Nelson Mandela (co-recipient) Former President of South Africa, South Africa
2000 : Grameen Bank (co-recipient) Founded by Mohammad Yunus, Bangladesh
1999 : Baba Amte Social Worker, India
1998 : Ramakrishna Mission Founded by Swami Vivekananda, India
1997 : Gerhard Fischer German Diplomat, Germany
1996 : A. T. Ariyaratne Founder of Sarvodaya Shramadana Movement, Sri Lanka
1995 : Julius Nyerere 1st President of Tanzania, Tanzania

Leave A Comment

This website uses cookies and third party services. Ok