Schedules in Indian constitution – Indian polity Notes – Schedules in Indian constitution

Schedules in Indian constitution


Schedules in Indian constitution

First Schedule
  • List of States & Union Territories and their territorial Jurisdictions
Second Schedule
  • Provision related to the Emoluments ,Allowances,Privileges etc
  1. The President and Governor Of States
  2. The Speaker and Dy Speaker Of Lok Sabha,Legislative Assembly in States
  3. The Chairman And Dy Chairman Of Rajya Sabha, Legislative council of States
  4. The Judges of supreme court And High Court
  5. The comptroller And Auditor General Of India
Third Schedule
  • Forms of Oaths and affirmations for
  1. The Union Ministers
  2. The candidates for the election to the Parliament.
  3. The Members of Parliament
  4. The Judges of Supreme court,State Ministers,High Court Judges
Fourth Schedule
  • Allocation of  seats for each state of India in Rajya Sabha Articles 4 and 80.
Fifth Schedule
  • Administration and control of scheduled areas and tribes under Article 244
Sixth Schedule
  • Provisions for administration of Tribal Area in Asom, Meghalaya, Tripura, Mizoram & Arunachal Pradesh
  • Article 244 and 275
Seventh Schedule
  • Gives allocation of powers and functions between Union & States. It contains 3 lists
    1. Union List (For central Govt) 97 Subjects.
    2. States List (Powers of State Govt) 66 subjects
    3. Concurrent List (Both Union & States) 47 subjects.
Eighth Schedule
  • List of 22 languages of India recognized by Constitution
    1. Assamese2. Bengali3. Gujarati
    4. Hindi5. Kannada6. Kashmiri
    7. Manipuri8. Malayalam9. Konkani
    10. Marathi11. Nepali12. Oriya
    13. Punjabi14. Sanskrit15. Sindhi
    16. Tamil17. Telugu18. Urdu
    19. Santhali20. Bodo21. Maithili
    22. Dogri
  • Sindhi was added in 1967 by 21 Amendment
  • Konkani, Manipuri ad Nepali were added in 1992 by 71 amendment Santhali, Maithili, Bodo and Dogri were added in 2003 by 92 amendment
Ninth Schedule
  • Added by Ist amendment in 1951. Contains acts & orders related to land tenure, land tax, railways, industries.{Right of property not a fundamental right now}
Tenth Schedule
  • Added by 52nd amendment in 1985.
  • Contains provisions of disqualification of grounds of defection
  • It is also known as Anti Defection Law
Eleventh Schedule
  • By 73rd amendment in 1992. Contains provisions of Panchayati Raj.
  • it has 29 Matters
  • specify power ,Authority and Responsibilities under Article 243 G
Twelfth Schedule
  • By 74th amendment in 1992.
  • Contains provisions of Municipal Corporation.
  • it has 18 Matters
  • Under article – 243 W


Please Disable Ad Blocker – This Is the Only Source For Running This Website

Follow US On Telegram For Latest Materials 

UPSC IAS  Telegram Channel –

SSC  Telegram Channel –

IBPS Telegram Channel –

Railway Telegram Channel –

Medical Telegram Channel –

Teaching Telegram Channel –

Engineering Telegram Channel –

Defence Telegram Channel –

 Donate Here For Free Study Materials  

Share Study Materials With Us Or Contact Us If You Have Any Query

EContact US  – /

Note & Disclaimer – All Study Materials Here are shared Only For Educational Purposes .StudyDhaba Will Not Be Responsible . Whole Materials Is For Education Purpose Only .We Work hard to Provide You Quality Study Materials For All Competitive Exams .You can Also Share Study Materials,Notes Or Any Materials With Us .We Will Publish That Material On Our Website .It is a Humble Request To All Of You Please Share This Post With Your Friends And On Social Media .
UPSC Prelims 2020 Test Series 500+ Tests Pdf Solution