Windham Campbell Prizes 2016 Winners Announced

Home » Windham Campbell Prizes 2016 Winners Announced

Windham Campbell Prizes 2016 Winners Announced

Windham Campbell Prizes 2016 Winners Announced

Nine writers, including one from India, Jerry Pinto, have been awarded with the Windham Campbell Prizes at Yale University for their literary achievements. Others being from the United States, United Kingdom, Australia, India, and Ireland — were chosen in three categories: fiction, non-fiction, and drama.

Award: $150,000 to each Awardee.

This year’s recipients are

  • Drama:
    • Branden Jacobs-Jenkins (United States)
    • Hannah Moscovitch (Canada)
    • Abbie Spallen (Ireland)
  • Fiction:
    • Tessa Hadley (United Kingdom)
    • E. Morgan (United States)
    • Jerry Pinto (India)
  • Non- fiction:
    • Hilton Als (United States)
    • Stanley Crouch (United States)
    • Helen Garner (Australia).

Jerry Pinto

Surviving WomenThe Indian Author, editor, journalist, poet and traslator won the prize for his novel Em and the Big Hoom published in 2012 in the fiction category. His other work includes:

  • Helen: The Life and Times of an H-Bomb
  • Reflected in water– Writings in Goa.

Windham Campbell Prizes

  • Complete Name : Donald Windham Sandy M Campbell Literary Prizes
  • Started at Yale University in 2011
  • The first Award was presented in 2013
  • Awarded to Authors who write in English.
  • Administered by Yale’s Beinecke Rare Book & Manuscript Library.
  • Expansion Plans: In 2017, the prizes will expand to include poetry.
Print Friendly, PDF & Email
By |March 2nd, 2016|Education|

About the Author:

Leave A Comment